
Cryptocurrency companies seeking to operate in the United Kingdom now have five months to begin the country’s new authorization process. The Financial Conduct Authority opened its authorization gateway on Wednesday, setting the end of February 2027 as the deadline for applications ahead of a wider regulatory framework planned for October of that year.
The opening marks a significant step in the UK’s effort to establish formal supervision for digital-asset businesses. According to CoinDesk, the process follows several years of legislative development and gives firms a limited period to prepare applications before the new regime is introduced.
FCA opens application process
The FCA is the UK financial regulator responsible for overseeing the authorization gateway. Crypto companies that want to operate in the country must submit their applications by the end of February 2027.
The application period is expected to last five months. That timetable leaves firms with a relatively concentrated window to understand the requirements, prepare documentation and apply for permission under the forthcoming system.
The new framework is scheduled to take effect in October 2027. The period between the February application deadline and the planned start of the regime is intended to precede the formal introduction of the rules, although the source material does not specify how the FCA will process individual applications during that interval.
The regulatory move concerns cryptocurrency companies and the activities they carry out in the UK. In general terms, authorization systems are designed to establish which firms may provide regulated services and what obligations those firms must meet. The FCA’s gateway therefore represents more than a registration update: it is the entry point for the licensing regime that is due to replace the country’s more limited existing approach.
Existing registrants may have an advantage
More than 60 companies are already registered with the FCA under an anti-money-laundering-focused regime. Those firms may be better placed to prepare for the new requirements because they have previously completed part of the regulator’s registration process and may already have relevant compliance systems in place.
That earlier registration does not remove the need to apply under the new framework. Instead, it could mean that some of the preparation has already been completed. The source material does not say that existing registrants will automatically receive authorization or that their applications will be approved.
Zumo, an Edinburgh-based crypto infrastructure platform, is among the companies registered under the existing system. It received that registration in 2021 and has developed a UK Cryptoasset Regulation Tracker for businesses preparing for the new rules.
The tracker is intended to show firms what the regulations will require and how the relevant regulatory milestones fit together. Zumo founder and chief executive Nick Jones said the company built the tool as an industry operator rather than as a law firm or consultancy. He also said its work involved matching individual obligations in the rules to the regulated activities to which they apply and updating that mapping as further documents are published.
UK framework arrives after a long legislative process
The UK’s formal crypto regime has taken shape more slowly than some comparable initiatives. Legislative work began in 2022, while the European Union’s Markets in Crypto-Assets, or MiCA, Regulation came into force in June 2023. Around that same period, the UK’s relevant Act of Parliament was becoming law.
The comparison helps explain why the FCA’s announcement matters. Crypto businesses operating across jurisdictions have had to follow different regulatory timetables, and the UK’s upcoming framework gives them a clearer date by which applications must be submitted and a target date for the rules to begin.
For companies, the immediate issue is the February 2027 cutoff. Firms that miss the application window could face uncertainty over their ability to operate once the October 2027 framework begins, although the source material does not state what consequences would apply. The FCA’s opening of the gateway effectively starts the preparation phase for businesses that want to remain active in the UK market.
Moneyiar market picture
Moneyiar data at the stated times show mixed performance among the selected digital assets:
- Monad (MON): $0.0322120475, up 19.54% over 24 hours and 34.02% over seven days, as of October 1, 2026, at 09:03 +03:30.
- Ethereum Name Service (ENS): $6.916001467, down 1.05% over 24 hours and up 3.03% over seven days, as of October 1, 2026, at 09:04 +03:30.
- Velo (VELO): $0.005689158, up 12.39% over 24 hours and 29.1% over seven days, as of October 1, 2026, at 09:04 +03:30.
- OpenLedger (OPEN): $0.1290473277, down 0.89% over 24 hours and 3.37% over seven days, as of October 1, 2026, at 09:03 +03:30.
These figures describe market movements in the selected assets and are separate from the FCA’s regulatory timetable.